Revolution. Evolution.

“Dog on the dock” Jasper greets the morning on St. Joe Bay. Photo by Baby Bear.

I’m currently on family vacation in Florida’s Forgotten Coast. Mister Elwood and Mama Bear towed the boat down over the weekend and have been here since, but I had some time sensitive Sarah Mac Band business to take care of in preparation for our upcoming album release. So instead, I drove down yesterday, by myself, listening to a freshly burned copy of the new Sarah Mac Band album (at an ungodly volume because I was driving Mama Bear’s car which unlike mine had a full set of functioning speakers).

Mister Elwood makes a stop at the jetty during the tour de nostalgia of Mexico Beach (where he and Mama Bear met and used to hang out back when they were still young and crazy).

For my first listen, I was just sort of tuned out, concentrating on making sure that I took the right road (there are two beach roads that I always confuse) and not spilling my super large Starbucks all over my lap. By the time I got to my second listen, I knew exactly where I was and was able to concentrate on the beautiful scenery and the songs on our album. Pretty soon into it, I was boohooing like my dog had just died. If anyone else had been on the road that morning and seen me, they probably would HAVE thought that my dog had just died. Not so. Instead, they were happy tears. I was/am just so proud of this body of work and so excited to say, “Hey, we did that!”

Now, I’m out on the porch, doing a little light vacation reading and watching a storm roll in over the bay. I came across a really cool quote in my book. It’s cool because I secretly (or not so secretly) want to go back to school one day for ethnomusicology. It’s also cool because I feel like in a lot of ways it illustrates the Sarah Mac Band’s journey to the very same album that brought me to tears yesterday.

Music is large. It is made by as many different types of people, with as many different backgrounds, as there are listeners. New forms of music are being invented and evolving from earlier forms every day. And each new song is a link in a millennia-long chain of evolutionary enhancements to precious song building—slight alterations in the “genetic structure” of one song lead us to a new one. –Daniel J. Levitin, The World in Six Songs: How the Musical Brain Created Human Nature.

I caught Mister Elwood on his journey to watch the storm roll in from the dock. “Hey Dad, listen to this awesome quote! Isn’t that a cool thing to think about?”

He hesitated for a moment, “Yeah, it’s kind of cool. But it’s too bad that music evolved to where it is today and didn’t just stay with the rock of the sixties and seventies. That was good music and now everything that people are putting out there is just plain old crap.”

Hmmm…. Wait a minute. “Everything except the Sarah Mac Band’s new album, right Dad?”

“Oh yeah, that’s exactly what I meant.”

Here’s another photo by Baby Bear of Mama Bear out fishing on the dock.

Leave a Reply

