It has been 38 days since my last confession…

“Bless me Father for I have sinned. It has been 38 days since my last confession. These are my sins…”

Well, really… my sins are manifold… far too many to list in one sitting. But I thought that tonight, for brevity’s sake, I’d just focus on not blogging for the last month-plus. Usually, if I don’t blog, nobody really notices it and I can slide by. Recently, my wickedness has been brought to light and it seems that in the last few weeks, I’ve been confronted more than once for my lack of blog activities. I know from fighting the good fight that the people that you fight alongside are there to watch your back, but also to call you to the table when you’re straying from the straight and narrow. That’s what friends are for, right? So, Housemate, I use that to say these two things:

1)      Thank you for ragging me until I was too ashamed to show my face without writing another blog post first.

2)      Please get off my back!! Not all of us are funny and clever and have witty things to write about more than once a week!!

The damage is done, so the reasons behind it don’t necessarily make a difference. But, since I’m out of practice at blogging and don’t have any clever blog juices flowing, I’ll just recount the last 38 days for you.

We played out Christmas shows in Tallahassee, St. Petersburg, and Lakeland (I will post pictures later for you to see how cool those shows were) . Immediately following the Lakeland show, we drove back to Tallahassee and I checked into the hospital to have some surgery on my throat. Although my voice came out okay, I still had some complications and was in the hospital for 5 stinkin’ days (I finally went home mid-afternoon on Christmas day). Fortunately, Baby Bear saved the day again by showing up with her laptop and entertaining me with Youtube videos once the thrill of all the chocolate pudding you can eat had worn off.

Honestly (since we’re in confession mode here), I didn’t expect that recovery would take as long as it did. Previously unbeknownst to me, bodies take a little time to catch back up after they’ve been traumatized. So, I basically lounged around and watched tv, all the while wearing the same pair of pajamas for two weeks. In between the naps, I went to follow up doctors’ appointments and made myself at home in Mama Bear and Mister Elwood’s kitchen.

On the advice of my friend Brooke, I made brown butter for the first time in my life. Then I took it a step further and made brown butter/brown sugar short bread cookies!

While rummaging around in the “junk” drawer in Mama Bear’s kitchen, I found a weiner dog cookie cutter. So, I made chocolate dachshunds!

This was the original plan for Christmas morning breakfast. Unfortunately, I was incapacitated and we had to reschedule for 5 days later. Pumpkin waffles, fresh whipped cream, fruit and caramelized pecans… Served with mimosas and hot apple cider.

I also finally got around to making marmalade from the oranges from the tree in our backyard.

Since my life took a detour into Sarah-in-slow-motion-land for a little while (as I assume that it always does when you’re doped up on prescription painkillers),  I decided that I would use that opportunity to not stress about “stuff” and in true living grateful fashion, I enjoyed all of the little things… like hanging out with Milo, who used to officially be my dog until he decided that he likes Mr. Elwood better. I guess if you watch the video below, you’ll understand why (unless you watch it in like… the next five hours because it takes Youtube forever to get things situated and be able to show the video… or else, I’ve just not figure out how to work that newfangled contraption).

All I’m saying is that sometimes games like that get really old, really quick… especially if you’re the one throwing the stick and getting barked at. Mr. Elwood created the monster and now he has to reap the consequences, which oftentimes looks like this (as I learned during my tenure as a “sickie” who stayed at her parents’ house so that they could take care of her):

In the Mac house, this photo is affectionately referred to as: "Pop-Pop and his pup-pups."

Fear not though, Sarah Mac Band fans. I’ve done my penance and have been absolved of my sin. And since I don’t anticipate any more neck surgery (EVER), I think that we’ll be back on track with the blogging sooner than later.

Even more so, fear not for my health. The vocal cords came out not only unscathed, but completely untouched by the surgery. Aside from some swelling and a wicked sore throat for the first few weeks, I’m good. I’ve been back at practice for a week, and we’re finally settling up our Spring schedule (which we were tentative to do prior to the surgery because we didn’t know how much recovery time I’d need). I’m also back into the real world now—going to the post office, grocery shopping, training for my 31 miles on the 31st birthday (I’m so totally not kidding about that one, guys), and knitting up a storm. In fact, I’ve felt so good lately, that I went on an adventure last weekend with Baby Bear and some of our friends!

Check back next week to see what shows we have coming up. I know for a fact that there are many in the works. See y’all soon!

Thanks for your prayers, warm thoughts and encouragement over the last month. Oh, and the gifts… those were the best part 🙂

3 responses to “It has been 38 days since my last confession…

  1. I am so sorry that I was such a selfish jerk. Fussing on Facebook because I need some SMB….I did not know you had health issues going on. I am glad everything is ok now…
    Hang in there…if you need anything…please let me know.
    You know I work for a large medical company…What I dont know I can find out with quickness.
    See you soon.
    Valerie

  2. Ha! No worries. I think that we were thinking the same thing… we need some SMB because you don’t get paid when you go for a month without singing!! 🙂

  3. 31 miles?!

Leave a Reply

