But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand…

Just because we’re off today doesn’t mean that we’re taking a break from selling cds. Go to our online store and get your copy of Gloryland while they still last!

Today was a rare day in the world of the Sarah Mac Band. Although we are playing out of town tomorrow, today is an absolutely free weekend day, the likes of which we haven’t seen in months. That’s great because it means that we’ve been busy, playing, recording and generally doing the things that one might expect from those who are working diligently to make a living playing music. However, every once in a while, a little rest day is a pleasant departure from the “grind.”

Yesterday afternoon, when I got home, Housemate was watching The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers. We’re both pretty passionate about TLOTR movies (… her the books, too. Me, not so much…), and although The Two Towers is my least favorite in the trilogy, I settled into it and watched the rest of it with her… because I had a free Friday night for the first time in a while!

I’m a movie crier. In fact, I’m a movie cheerer, crier, jump-out-of-my-seater and fist pumper (but I’m not a sneak-food-into-the-theater person because somehow I always feel dirty, like I’m shoplifting)!! I don’t complain about it. I’m not embarrassed by the fact that if you’ve met me, you’ve probably seen me cry in public. That’s just part of who I am. Sometimes, I wonder if there’s something in my ability to completely suspend reality and be swept away by a story that might also lend itself to good songwriting, I’m not sure. My friend Joyce would just chock it up to my zodiac sign, “You are soooo Scorpio, getting carried away in the dramatic!”

Not to deny whatever may or may not come with being born under the sign of Scorpio but I think that it’s not so much the dramatic that I get carried away in… It’s more the heart, the hope and the beauty of the human experience (or elf, dwarf, hobbit, and the rest of Middle Earth if you’re talking about Tolkien).

As much as the big, epic stories of good versus evil can really drill it home, there are smaller, more subtle things that speak with just as much volume. Charlie sent me an email this week with a link to a great blog that each day posts a new 1 of 1000 awesome things. Although I’m confident that a lot of the stuff on this blog is for humor purposes only, it still makes me happy to read about someone else who is living grateful and seeing the good around them!

I guess that seeing Frodo and Sam and all of my Middle Earth friends last night awakened the little places in my heart that had been tired and grumpy all week. Suddenly this morning, I’m refreshed and excited about the world and able to see all of the (almost) 1000 awesome things that I have going for me on this rare  Saturday off. And then on top of that, I’m also really excited about all of the cool stuff that has been piling up in the Sarah Mac Band realm in the last week:

Gloryland CD Release Party: Last weekend, we released the last single in the Single Revolution, “Gloryland.” We were joined by drummer Leon Anderson on stage, as well as all of you in the field in Kleman Plaza. Not only was it a fantastic show, but I think that “Gloryland” is well on it’s way to being the fastest seller in the Revolution. I may at this point be overestimating because I don’t know how many have sold since the last count, but it appears that there are only 10 “Gloryland” singles left. (If you’re thinking that you’d like one, I’d advise you to go ahead and purchase it sooner than later.)  Thanks to you guys! We appreciate you! Thanks so much, Leon. We’re grateful to you for your willingness to be a part of our big day and look forward to the future when we’ll get the opportunity to play with you again!

Southern Living Magazine: SO…. We’re going to be in Southern Living!! Seriously!! This is big time, kids. They even sent a photographer to Tallahassee for a photo shoot. It sounds way more glamorous than it really was. Unlike the stuff that you see on America’s Next Top Model,  instead we had Sarah, Charlie, and Claire climbing trees and sweating in the 103 degree heat in downtown Tallahassee with an audience of three homeless men who were resting in the gazebo near our shoot. They were very helpful however in suggesting other sites around downtown for the photos.

The photographer, Art, sent us an email later saying that he had fun and that the photos are cool. I can’t imagine that they’re quite as cool or as rock star as some of the other people that he’s shot over the years,  but we’ll gladly take the compliment anyway! Look for us later this fall in SL. Don’t worry, we’ll be sure to let you know when it comes out so that you can get a copy for your coffee table!

Sarah Mac Band at the Martin Theater in Panama City: Even though we were off last night and today, we’re back to work tomorrow (08/01). We’ll be packing up and headed to Panama City to perform at “Live at The Martin Theatre – Americana Sunday.” The show is hosted by our friends, folk outfit Lucky Mud, and will be taped for later radio broadcast as well. If you’re around in that area, please come check it out. Doors open at 3 pm CST and the show starts taping at 4.

And now I  leave you to go and enjoy my day off… if you’re still not quite a believer even after the 1000 Awesome Things and my little list of 3, then take heart in the encouraging words of  Samwise Gamgee to disheartened Frodo who is ready to give up in his quest to save the world:

“I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.”
“What are we holding onto, Sam?”
That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo… and it’s worth fighting for.”

True words from Sarah Mac:  (sniff, sniff, wipes a tear) Amen to that!

View from the stage at the “Gloryland” release party. (photo: A. McElhaney)

Signing autographs after the show. (photo: A. McElhaney)

Sarah Mac Band fans find creative ways to beat the heat at the “Gloryland” release show! (photo: A. McElhaney)

